

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

You are requested to attend a meeting of the Corporate Governance Committee to be held in Brittons Ash Community Centre, Bridgwater Road, Bathpool on 3 December 2018 at 6.15 pm.

Agenda

- 1 Apologies.
- 2 Minutes of the previous meeting of the Corporate Governance Committee held on 17 September 2018 (attached).

(Pages 5 - 10)

- 3 Public Question Time.
- 4 Declaration of Interests.

To receive declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or personal or prejudicial interests, in accordance with the Code of Conduct, in relation to items on the agenda. Such interests need to be declared even if they have already been recorded in the Register of Interests. The personal interests of Councillors who are County Councillors or Town or Parish Councillors will automatically be recorded in the minutes.

Grant Thornton External Audit - Progress Report. Report of the Interim Finance Manager (Deputy S151 Officer). (attached).

(Pages 11 - 24)

6 SWAP Internal Audit – Progress Report 2018/19. Report of the Assistant Director, SWAP (attached).

(Pages 25 - 48)

Report on Health and Safety Performance. Report of the Environmental Health Manager (attached).

(Pages 49 - 54)

Bruce Lang
Assistant Chief Executive

23 November 2018

Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting and listen to the discussions.

There is time set aside at the beginning of most meetings to allow the public to ask questions.

Speaking under "Public Question Time" is limited to 4 minutes per person in an overall period of 15 minutes. The Committee Administrator will keep a close watch on the time and the Chairman will be responsible for ensuring the time permitted does not overrun. The speaker will be allowed to address the Committee once only and will not be allowed to participate further in any debate.

Except at meetings of Full Council, where public participation will be restricted to Public Question Time only, if a member of the public wishes to address the Committee on any matter appearing on the agenda, the Chairman will normally permit this to occur when that item is reached and before the Councillors begin to debate the item.

This is more usual at meetings of the Council's Planning Committee and details of the "rules" which apply at these meetings can be found in the leaflet "Having Your Say on Planning Applications". A copy can be obtained free of charge from the Planning Reception Desk at The Deane House or by contacting the telephone number or e-mail address below.

If an item on the agenda is contentious, with a large number of people attending the meeting, a representative should be nominated to present the views of a group.

These arrangements do not apply to exempt (confidential) items on the agenda where any members of the press or public present will be asked to leave the Committee Room.

Full Council, Executive, Committees and Task and Finish Review agendas, reports and minutes are available on our website: www.tauntondeane.gov.uk

The meeting rooms at both Brittons Ash Community Centre and West Monkton Primary School are on the ground floor and are fully accessible. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available.

Lift access to the Council Chamber on the first floor of Shire Hall, is available from the main ground floor entrance. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available through the door to the right hand side of the dais.



An induction loop operates at Shire Hall to enhance sound for anyone wearing a hearing aid or using a transmitter.

For further information about the meeting, please contact the Governance and Democracy Team on 01823 356356 or email democraticservices@tauntondeane.gov.uk

If you would like an agenda, a report or the minutes of a meeting translated into another language or into Braille, large print, audio tape or CD, please telephone us on 01823 356356 or email: enquiries@tauntondeane.gov.uk

Corporate Governance Committee Members:

Councillor N Cavill (Chairman)

Councillor J Hunt (Vice-Chair)

Councillor M Adkins

Councillor J Blatchford

Councillor C Booth

Councillor E Gaines

Councillor A Govier

Councillor T Hall

Councillor J Horsley

Councillor S Nicholls

Councillor R Ryan

Councillor F Smith-Roberts

Councillor C Tucker

Councillor D Webber